pizza night

It left an almost unrecoverable scar that pizza lunch my dad attempt when I was not even 10 years old. No one tried it again at home, not even those frozen ones. I guess he used some sort of phyllo dough and somehow ended tasting like… a pie crust… ewwwww…

It was about 3 months ago that I tried it for the first time, the most delicious pizza crust ever. I followed the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust recipe and added oregano and basil. The result is that the pizza tastes like food, I mean, like those you get in Italian restaurants.

There’s definitely no science into making it. I use a tiny electric oven, so that requires a few adjustments to get it right.

After the dough is ready, I transfer it to a pan, bake it for 10 minutes, then add dice tomatoes seasoned with black pepper and kosher salt, 10 minutes  in the oven, then add mozzarella and parmesan cheese, the toppings and back to the oven for 10 minutes, finally more cheese on top and bake it 5 minutes more. The result it’s absolutely delicious.

To prevent the crust get soggy with the toppings, I first cook them for a few minutes on the stove.

It takes me about 1 hour to get dinner ready vs. 30 minutes from any pizza delivery, but probably cost me about half of a purchased one, using only the best ingredients and being 100% free of spit. There!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

